Travelogue Pt. 6

The Travelogue series recounts a seventeen-day-long cross-country road trip I took at age 21 with two college friends. We started in Charlotte, NC, and ended up two weeks and 8,000 miles later in Los Angeles, CA. The following is taken verbatim from a handwritten journal I laboriously kept on the trip. Names have been changed, but the rest is absolute, 100%, unedited truth.

*****

June 7

We are in Star Valley Ranch, WY at Megan and Daniel’s.

Left Pine around 8:20 this morning. Brittany made up a phenomenal breakfast of veggie scrambled eggs, bacon, berries, toast, and tea. It was a pretty tender goodbye and Brittany immediately friended us on Facebook.

Samantha drove out which was super nerve wracking. Both of them just abuse and destroy everything, including my car.

We drove to Boulder. Samantha got lost several times and blamed it on the interstate signage. Had to bite my tongue. Samantha’s cousin Nicholas, his wife Lauren, and their 1.5 year old son Jacob live in Boulder [later edit: Erie] and they fed us doughnuts, coffee, and fruit. They’re a pretty cool family and Jacob is a trip. He ate an entire slice of pumpkin bread by picking it up and stuffing it on his face. He played hockey with them which is adorable but he’s pretty good at it honestly. Of course the like four seconds I’m alone with him he closes his fingers in a door and starts crying. Me and babies are just not meant to be.

Left there are went to Fort Collins to Odell Microbrewery. I didn’t get anything because I don’t know how to tell what I’ll like.

4119757126_8a2aff00f0_o.jpg

Then I drove us for a very long stretch. It’s about 1.5 from Pine to Ft. Collins and then 8 to Star Valley. I got us into Wyoming. The state is unreal. I’ve never seen anything like what we drove through. I drove 5hrs but honestly never got tired of looking out the window. It’s like another planet.

Switched off with Jessica at this hilar little spot called Little America. It’s some sort of combo gas station/store/hotel. Just great. We got $.75 swirl cones.

Then I was in back for last 3hrs. Was in a really weird place emotionally. Could. Not. Sleep. I think most of it was just exhaustion. But road weariness. And I’m so over Sam. I’m having a hard time even being civil. And I’m homesick. But also am feeling like if I go to Raleigh after this summer I’ll just be an outsider. Jessica’s got her place there and really doesn’t need me. Which leaves me nowhere. Again, left behind. Whatever. Really unwanted, which is an awful feeling. But I do feel like she’s only doing this trip out of obligation and I’m missing fam and weddings and beach trips, etc. to be here and it’s like I dragged her along like I can tell she’d rather be in Raleigh with her friends which is fine I just wish she’d have admitted it so we could have canceled this whole thing and gotten on with our lives. Not to say I’m regretting coming. It’s been incredible. I just wish I were with different people and I feel like they do too. So anyways, cried for basically 3 hours in the backseat over literally nothing, just a tired pity party.

Here we’re staying with Megan and Daniel, Jessica’s teacher Nicole’s parents. It’s not an outstanding house but it’s way better than we could’ve hoped for. Megan fixed us sandwiches. Daniel reminds me of Grandpa. I think he might be ex-military. But their house is more than enough space. We’ve all got our own beds, though Sam and I are sharing a room.

Packed lunches to take into the Tetons tomorrow.

I just want to be alone.

Leave a Reply

