Daniel X: Watch the Skies

By: James Patterson and Ned Rust
The Daniel X Novels Book 2
Fiction
2009
Rating: 3/5

Daniel X: Watch the Skies

I’ll start by saying that the intended audience for Daniel X: Watch the Skies is young – maybe sixth graders or so.

I’ll also say that it’s a SciFi book about catfish-esque aliens and imaginary friends. Just so you know what you’re getting into.

But I’ll also say that it’s James Patterson, so if nothing else you know that you’re getting quality writing.

It’s fairly short. It’s broken up into two- or three-page chapters, so there’s a million chapters, which can appear daunting, but it’s a quick read, I promise.

I liked it. I didn’t love it, but I knew I wouldn’t. I’m in no way the intended audience for this book, and I’ve already read the first in the series (which I didn’t love, didn’t hate). They’re very average: not bad, but nothing to write home about either.

So this book is obviously a part of a series. A series that was planned as a series, which I don’t love. They function as stand alone books because they’re not directly related, so don’t worry if you didn’t read the first one. But it also means that in the grand scheme of the plot line, this book doesn’t much matter. There’s only one or two plot points that I feel like will be relevant later on (granted I haven’t read the rest of the series).

It’s got all the elements of a good story: fighting and action, heartwarming backstory, a little bit of romance, aliens, explosions. So it’s good. But not great. But that’s okay for this kind of book. It’s a beach read or a time-killer for travel or a fun book for A.R. or a book report.

Any James Patterson fans out there?

 

*****

a

If you liked Watch the Skies, try these:

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Witch and Wizard by James Patterson

 

Coming up:

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Family Linen by Lee Smith

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Leave a Reply

